Le Ann McMillan Pilates

The first Pilates studio in Montreal was founded in 1992 on Queen Mary Street, under the name iCentre Pilates de MontrEali, as Ann McMillan was launching her pioneering work and her great Pilates adventure. She had been initiated to the Pilates Method in the 80is while pursuing her modern dance career in New York City.

She was suffering at the time from a chronic hip injury, and a colleague recommended Pilates as a way to ihelp involve your abdominals, and ‘get out’ of your hipsi, she said. Ann quickly adopted the Pilates Method and her enthusiasm motivated her to launch her own studio when she returned to Montreal because, as she recalls, ithere werenit any Pilates studios in Montreal at the time, which meant that in order to teach Pilates, I had to open my own!i

Little by little, and as Pilates started to gain notoriety, the centre grew; and in September 2007, Ann moved her studio to downtown Montreal in a large space designed specifically for the practise of Pilates. The year 2013 marks a new era in Annis career as she decided to concentrate her efforts on teacher training and Pilates education. So she closed the beautiful downtown space in September 2013 and now devotes herself to travelling, teaching and dispensing her knowledge in Canada, the United-States and Europe.

Joseph Hubertus Pilates

Joseph H. Pilates was born in 1882 from a German family. His health was poor as a child. In order to fight the ever present threat of tuberculosis and strengthen his body, Joseph started a rigorous training program, becoming an accomplished athlete in several areas, including gymnastics, skiing, diving, boxing and more. His training was a success, and by the age of 14 his muscle profile was so well developed that he posed as a model for anatomical drawings.

After moving to England in 1912, he became a professional boxer and self-defence instructor. He also organized iRoman wrestlingi demonstrations. Two years later at the onset of WWI, Joseph was interned as a German National by the British authorities. To maintain his and his inmatesi physical condition, he devised a series of floor exercises inspired by yoga and bodybuilding. This training allowed them to keep up their strength and health. In fact, legend says that all those who followed his program were spared by the influenza epidemic in 1918. So it is that mat Pilates exercises came to be.

While working as an orderly with injured soldiers during his imprisonment, Joseph also designed exercise apparatus for his patients by attaching springs to hospital beds, in order to strengthen their muscles during recovery. And this is how the Pilates apparatus were invented, such as we know them today.

After the war, Joseph Pilates returned to Germany where he trained the Hamburg city police force with the help of his new inventions. He also met Rudolf Von Laban, one of the pioneers of modern dance, who had a great influence on the development of his techniques.

Joseph Pilates emigrated to the United States in 1926. On the voyage, he met a nurse, Clara, who would become his wife. Together they opened a physical fitness studio in New York City. As they discovered the benefits of Pilates’ technique for improving flexibility, posture, endurance and performance, his practise quickly became all the rage among American dancers, including George Balanchine and Martha Graham. Actors, singers and athletes followed suit, using it as a training tool to improve their overall fitness. He called his technique Contrology. It was only in the late 70is that the Pilates Method was popularized outside New York, when Pilates disciples started teaching on the American Pacific Coast. It quickly grew popular among the Stars of Hollywood.

During the 90is, a team of health professionals at St. Francis Memorial Hospital in San Francisco (including physical therapists, orthopaedists and Pilates instructors) began to study the benefits of Pilates in the context of rehabilitation. Therapeutic (or post-rehabilitation) Pilates was born.

In later years, the growing interest in holistic and whole-body medicine in the early 2000is contributed to the increasing popularity of the Pilates Method and its use as a general fitness technique. In addition, numerous athletes and sports teams started to incorporate the Pilates Method in their physical training plans.

Pilates is now used internationally by a wide variety of groups of population, in three main forms:

– General fitness for the public at large

– Post-rehabilitation or therapeutic Pilates for symptomatic populations

– Sports training for athletes

The Pilates Method Alliance (PMA) is a Miami-based non-profit organization that protects and dictates the quality standards of the Pilates Method. Ann McMillan Pilates (AMP) is an institution recognized by the PMA for the training of Pilates instructors.

Le Ann McMillan Pilates

Le premier studio Pilates a Montréal à vu le jour en 1992 sur la rue Queen Mary dans l’ouest de Montréal sous la bannière «Centre Pilates de Montréal». Ann McMillan débutait son travail de pionnière et sa grande aventure Pilates. Elle avait eu la piqûre Pilates au cours des années ’80 tandis qu’elle poursuivait sa carrière en danse moderne à New York.

 

Affligées par une blessure chronique à la hanche, une amie danseuse lui recommande d’essayer le Pilates; «cela va t’aider à engager tes abdominaux et te ‘sortir’ de tes hanches» lui a-t-elle dit. Ann a rapidement adhéré à la méthode et son engouement l’a amené à fonder son propre studio lors de son retour à Montréal puisque comme elle dit; «il n’y avait aucun studio à Montréal à l’époque, afin de pouvoir enseigner le Pilates, j’ai dû en ouvrir un!»

De fil en aiguille, le studio a grossit, le Pilates a gagné ses lettres de noblesses et en septembre 2007, Ann a déménagé son studio dans un vaste espace est aménagé expressément pour la pratique du Pilates au centre-ville. L’année 2013 marquera un changement de cap. En effet, c’est en septembre 2013 qu’Ann décide de consacrer son énergie sur la formation d’instructeurs et ferme le magnifique espace de la rue Ste-Catherine. Elle donne maintenant des formations d’instructeurs et des conférences au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe, continuant ainsi à transmettre son savoir.

Joseph Hubertus Pilates

Joseph H. Pilates est d’origine allemande né en 1882. Enfant, il avait une santé fragile. Il fut même menacé par la tuberculose. Pour vaincre cette maladie et retrouver la forme, Joseph se met à l’entraînement rigoureux et devient athlète dans plusieurs disciplines sportives dont la gymnastique, le ski, le plongeon, la boxe et autres. À quatorze ans, il devient un modèle anatomique grâce à sa musculature bien développée.

En 1912, il déménage en Angleterre où il devient boxeur professionnel ainsi que professeur d’autodéfense. Il donne des spectacles de «combat romain». Deux ans plus tard, à l’amorce de la Première Guerre mondiale, étant citoyen allemand, Joseph se fait emprisonner par les autorités britanniques. Pour s’assurer du maintien de sa forme et de celle de ses camarades, il met en place une série d’exercices au sol influencée par le yoga et la musculation. Ces exercices lui permettent de garder la santé. La légende raconte que tous ceux qui ont suivi son programme ont été épargnés de l’épidémie de grippe de 1918. C’est la naissance des exercices Pilates au sol.

Travaillant comme «préposé aux bénéficiaires» auprès des soldats blessés durant son emprisonnement, il développe un système de ressorts qu’il attache aux lits des blessés pour renforcer leurs muscles pendant leur convalescence. C’est de cette idée que sont nés les appareils Pilates que l’on connaît aujourd’hui.

 

De retour en Allemagne après la guerre, il entraîne les policiers de Hambourg avec ses nouvelles trouvailles. Il fait aussi une rencontre importante pour l’évolution de sa technique en faisant la connaissance de Rudolf Von Laban., l’un des pionniers de la danse moderne.
En 1926, il émigre aux États-Unis. Au cours du voyage, il rencontre Clara, une infirmière qui devient rapidement sa femme. Ensemble, ils ouvrent un studio de remise en forme à New York. La méthode Pilates fait vite fureur auprès des danseurs américains tels que George Balanchine et Martha Graham qui découvrent ses bienfaits pour l’amélioration de leur flexibilité, de leur posture, de leur endurance et de leur performance technique. Ensuite, acteurs, chanteurs et athlètes profitent de cette nouvelle venue pour améliorer leur condition physique. Il nommait sa technique la Contrologie. La technique doit attendre la fin des années ’70 avant de sortir de New York. C’est à cette époque que des émules de Pilates amorcent l’enseignement sur la côte ouest américaine ou elle fut adoptée par les stars d’Hollywood.

Dans les années ’90, une équipe de professionnels de la santé à St-Francis Memorial Hospital à San Francisco (orthopédistes, physiothérapeutes, et instructeurs de Pilates) s’intéressent aux bienfaits du Pilates dans un contexte de réadaptation. C’est la naissance du Pilates thérapeutique ou Pilates post-réhabilitation.

Par la suite, l’engouement pour les approches de santé globale et holistique entamées au début des années 2000 contribua à la popularité croissante de la méthode et de son emploi à des fins de conditionnement général. De plus, plusieurs athlètes et équipes sportives incorporent la pratique du Pilates dans leur plan de préparation physique.

Elle est maintenant employée internationalement par un public élargi et on note trois volets Pilates distincts :

– Conditionnement général pour public élargi
– Post réhabilitation ou Pilates thérapeutique pour population symptomatique
– Conditionnement sportif pour athlète

La Pilates Method Alliance (PMA) est un organisme à but non lucratif basée à Miami qui veille et dicte les standards de qualités de la méthode. Le Ann McMillan Pilates (AMP) est une école de formation d’instructeurs Pilates reconnue par la PMA.